Workflow AutoCleanup Workarounds

As many of you know I have received much attention related to my Workflow blog posts. Everything from "incendiary, headline-grabbing attempt to create a problem where none exists" comments to notifications about dissrailing SharePoint training classes with this "non issue". I don't mind the "friendly" discussions I have had around this topic, I am glad this problem (or non problem, depending which side of the fence you are on) was brought to light. I still believe there are people out there not aware of this feature and won't realize the impact that it has on their environment until its too late.

With that said, I wanted to include some finds related to a common workaround related to the workflow auto clean-up feature. I found this information on a MSDN forum posting I have recently ran across. There are a few workarounds for this feature. You can configure a property when developing a custom workflow to adjust the auto clean-up days. You can turn off the timer job related to the workflow auto clean-up days. And you could write a script that updates the associations already existing in the database. Example scripts are located in the forum mentioned earlier (http://forums.msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/sharepointworkflow/thread/b15b27e2-3033-418b-9731-968273d7423e). There is code for a script which will update the auto clean-up days for a workflow association from 60 days (default) to any number of days you wish to configure. This code was written and posted by Shola Salako. Fred Morrison also has posted a powershell script which will update the auto clean-up days for workflow associations as well.

This entry was posted in 2007, Microsoft, SharePoint and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.